Le Lézard
Classified in: Sports and recreation

Caitlin Clark Wins 94th AAU Sullivan Award

Clark Becomes the First-Ever Two-Time Winner of the Award in Its 94-Year History

NEW YORK, NY / ACCESSWIRE / April 23, 2024 / University of Iowa basketball alum and No.1 WNBA Draft Pick Caitlin Clark is the winner of the 94th AAU James E. Sullivan Award. Clark is the first-ever two-time winner of the award in its 94-year history, as she also won the 93rd AAU Sullivan Award last year.

The reigning Naismith Player of the Year was presented the award during a special ceremony on Tuesday, April 23, at the New York Athletic Club. Her high school coach, Kristin Meyer, accepted the award on stage.

The AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) since 1930 to the most outstanding athlete at the collegiate or Olympic level in the United States. In addition to athletic excellence, the AAU Sullivan Award recognizes the qualities of leadership, citizenship, character, and sportsmanship on and off the playing surface.

"The AAU Sullivan Award is an incredible honor. I have been inspired by so many athletes that came before me and I hope I can be that same inspiration for the next generation to follow their dreams," said Caitlin Clark. "I want to congratulate the other finalists and thank all of those who voted for me."

Clark was determined the winner following a public vote, as well as votes from the AAU Sullivan Award Committee, AAU Board of Directors, sports media, and past winners.

Clark, who will now play for the WNBA's Indiana Fever, is the consensus national player of the year for the second straight season. She's the NCAA basketball all-time leading scorer and the only player in NCAA D1 Men's or Women's basketball history to lead her conference in scoring and assists in four consecutive seasons. Clark also broke the NCAA women's tournament scoring record in her final game in an Iowa jersey.

"Caitlin has accomplished something no other athlete has done by being a two-time AAU Sullivan Award winner, and we couldn't be prouder," said Jo Mirza, AAU President. "Beyond the court, her impact on women's basketball and women's sports in general cannot be overstated. She's an incredible role model for our AAU athletes."

The other finalists for this year's award included Olympic wrestler David Taylor, Olympic speed skater Emery Lehman, Team USA gymnast Frederick Richard, Texas Volleyball champion Madisen Skinner, and U.S. Paralympic swimmer Noah Jaffe.

Prior winners of the prestigious AAU Sullivan Award include fellow University of Iowa athlete Spencer Lee (wrestling, 2019), Olympians Michael Phelps (swimming, 2003) and Shawn Johnson (gymnastics, 2008) and Pro Football Hall of Famer Peyton Manning (football, 1997). A full list of recipients can be found here.

Video and photos from the award ceremony are available here.

Contact Information:

Kelsey Burr
Public Relations Manager, AAU
[email protected]

SOURCE: Amateur Athletic Union (AAU)


View the original press release on newswire.com.

These press releases may also interest you

17 mai 2024
The champion players of the Las Vegas Aces are getting a cash boost, direct from Vegas. Today the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority (LVCVA) announced that it will sponsor each player on the team, resulting in a first-of-its-kind, two-year...

17 mai 2024
Celebrities around the globe have long been captivated by the allure of the Maldives, and according to Björn Ingbrant, CEO of Maldives-Paradise.com, the reasons behind their holiday escapes to this tropical haven are multifaceted. In an...

17 mai 2024
Olight, the world's leading brand in mobile lighting solutions, today officially unveiled its latest product line ? Osight, an optic with a charging cover, at the company's product release event during this year's NRA Show....

17 mai 2024
Rally House, the nationally known sports and merchandise retailer, expands presence in Wisconsin to two storefront locations after opening Rally House Outlets at The Dells in Baraboo this Friday. Rally House Outlets at The Dells can be found off...

17 mai 2024
Today at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS), Cummins Inc. and Valvoline Global Operations celebrate Andrew McDougall ? who was honored with the 2024 Louis Schwitzer Award for his Xtrac Electric Servo Actuator, which has been adopted by the NTT...

17 mai 2024
Greenlite Ventures, Inc. has announced the signing of an Acquisition Agreement with No Limit Technology Holdings, Inc. (NLTH), an emerging powerhouse in the Sports Betting arena. The Agreement is scheduled to be finalized following a 30?45-day due...

News published on and distributed by: