Le Lézard
Classified in: Environment
Subjects: AWD, NPT, ENI, ANW, FVT

Nominees Announced for World's Leading Animal Conservation Award

International Wildlife Heroes Vie for Top Honor and $250,000

INDIANAPOLIS, Oct. 22, 2019 /PRNewswire/ -- As the need for wildlife conservation grows exponentially, the Indianapolis Prize, the world's leading award for animal conservation, elevates a message of hope for our planet. Today, Indianapolis Prize officials announced 31 global leaders in the field as Nominees for the 2020 award. These men and women are at the forefront of innovative research, scientific advances and incredible efforts bringing animals back from the brink of extinction.

"These remarkable Nominees are responsible for some of the finest conservation work occurring on our planet today. They lead, protect, inspire and offer hope for everyone who cares about the natural world," said Dr. Rob Shumaker, Indianapolis Zoo president. "I am immensely proud that we can highlight their important achievements through the Indianapolis Prize."

Nominees hail from countries across the globe, focused on animals both iconic and unique, from primates and elephants to marine mammals and birds. The Winner of the Prize receives an unrestricted $250,000 cash award while five remaining Finalists will each receive $10,000.

Internationally renowned professional conservationists and local representatives make up a Nominating Committee and Jury who will select six Finalists and determine a Winner, respectively. These selected conservationists will then be honored at the next Indianapolis Prize Gala presented by Cummins Inc., to be held Sept. 12, 2020.

In alphabetical order, the Nominees for the 2020 Indianapolis Prize are:

A History of Indianapolis Prize Winners

The Indianapolis Prize was first awarded in 2006 to Dr. George Archibald, the co-founder of the International Crane Foundation. The 2008 winner was George Schaller, Ph.D., known as one of the founding fathers of wildlife conservation, and both a senior conservationist for the Wildlife Conservation Society and vice president for Panthera. In 2010, Iain Douglas-Hamilton, Ph.D., founder of Save the Elephants, received the Prize for his pioneering research in elephant social behavior and for leading the way in the fight against the poaching of African elephants. Steven Amstrup, Ph.D., chief scientist for Polar Bears International, received the 2012 Prize for his work promoting the cause of the world's largest land carnivore. In 2014, Dr. Patricia C. Wright, founder of Centre ValBio, became the first woman awarded the Indianapolis Prize for her dedication to saving Madagascar's famed lemurs from extinction. Last year, Dr. Carl Jones received the 2016 Indianapolis Prize for his species recovery success on the island of Mauritius, including the echo parakeet, pink pigeon and Mauritius kestrel. Russ Mittermeier, Ph.D., Chief Conservation Officer of Global Wildlife Conservation earned the 2018 Prize for championing the concept of biodiversity hotspots and protecting the endemic species relying on those critical habitats.


The Indianapolis Prize recognizes and rewards conservationists who have achieved major victories in advancing the sustainability of an animal species or group of species. Winners receive an unrestricted $250,000 award. Remaining Finalists each receive $10,000

These press releases may also interest you

at 02:58
Growatt holds its series of Shine Elite training workshops in Mexico and its first two stops: Mexico City and Guadalajara. For the past two years, Growatt has been increasing its investments in Mexico, establishing local service team and warehouse....

at 00:50
The Energy Transitions Commission (ETC) today launched its report "China 2050: A Fully Developed Rich Zero-Carbon Economy," in partnership with the Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI). The report shows that it is technically and economically feasible for...

21 nov 2019
"Photovoltaic power plus energy storage" is likely to be the mainstream energy supply solution for the world in the future, said Li Zhenguo, president of LONGi Green Energy Technology Co., Ltd, a global leading solar tech company....

21 nov 2019
Farm Journal's Trust In Food initiative announced the addition of Sanderson Farms to its list of partners in America's Conservation Ag Movement (ACAM) to help farmers continue their journey to preserve our agricultural resources and promote...

21 nov 2019
Freedom Forever, the residential solar energy installer, recently named one of America's fastest-growing companies for the second year in a row by Inc. Magazine, today announced its expansion into Salt Lake City, Houston, and Dallas. Founded in 2011,...

21 nov 2019
Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE) announced today an AI Ops R&D collaboration with the U.S Department of Energy's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) to develop Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) technologies to automate...

News published on 22 october 2019 at 05:03 and distributed by: