Le Lézard
Classified in: Tourism and vacations
Subjects: AWD, NPT, PER

Skål International announces the results of the 2020 elections and Awards

MALAGA, Spain, Oct. 20, 2020 /PRNewswire/ --


We are pleased to announce that during the virtual Annual General Meeting held on Saturday 17 October 2020, Skål International delegates voted their new Executive Board for 2021.

Vice President Bill Rheaume (Canadian Rockies, Canada) becomes the President Elect, while Directors Burcin Turkkan (Atlanta, U.S.A.) was elected to the position of Senior Vice President and Fiona Nicholl (Cairns, Australia) as elected to the position of Junior of Vice President. 

Juan Ignacio Steta (Ciudad de Mexico, Mexico) and Marja Eela-Kaskinen (Turku, Finland) are the new Directors elected and Rafael Millan Perez (Ciudad de Mexico, Mexico) is the new Auditor.

Zlatan Fröhlich (Zagreb, Croatia) and William Moyer (Washington D.C., U.S.A.) were bestowed the Membre d'Honneur distinction.


The International Skål Council welcomes their new Skål Council Board:
President: Denise Scrafton (Australia)
Vice Presidents: Julie Dabaly-Scott (Kenya) and Jean-François Coté (Canada)


Past-President Hulya Aslantas (Istanbul, Turkey) has been appointed as the new Trustee and joins Past-President Tony Clegg-Butt (Nairobi, Kenya), who becomes the Coordinating Trustee, and Mok Singh (Los Angeles, U.S.A.) in this endeavour.


Order of Skål Merit

Denis Smith, Skål International Winnipeg, Canada

Corporate Order of Skål Merit

Best Western International
Nepal Tourism Board (first Skål Destination of the Year)

Skålleague of the Year

Jean François Coté, Skål International Quebec, Canada

Skål Ambassador of the Year

Roger Dow, Skål International Washington D.C., USA

Skål Future Leader of the Year

Beverly Nanchen, Skål International Perth, Australia

Skål Special Awards for 2020 - ("For going that Extra Mile in this Unprecedented year")

Andrew Wood ? Skål International Bangkok, Thailand
Steve Richer ? Skål International Washington D.C., USA
Juergen Thomas Steinmetz ? Skål International Dusseldorf, Germany
Leighton Cameron ? Skål International Christchurch, New Zealand
Mario Sequeira ? Skål International Goa, India
Emre Gezgin ? Skål International Izmir, Turkey
Vernon Kirsten ? Skål International Capetown, South Africa
Antonio Percario ? Skål International Roma, Italy
Windy Yan ? Skål International Taipei
Valmiki Hari Kishan ? Skål International Hyderabad, India
John Bright ? Skål International Southampton, UK
Skål International Europe Area Committee
Daniela Otero ? CEO, Skål International
Yolanda Sanchez ? General Secretariat, Skål International
Esther Romero Galvez ? General Secretariat, Skål International
Sandra Vera ? General Secretariat, Skål International
Ana Maria Vera ? General Secretariat, Skål International
Mercedes Canedo ? General Secretariat, Skål International


Following the online vote carried out by the Clubs worldwide and a jury in representation of the Executive Board, the three top clubs are:

Winner of the Skål Club of the Year Award 2019/2020 | Skål International Goa, India
View video https://youtu.be/rjDXhfi3fhQ 
Second position | Skål International Izmir, Turkey
View video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTfkNZaW6Sk 
Third position | Skål International Perth, Australia
View video https://youtu.be/SY9SywhLlBw 

The winner is entitled to a double free Congress Registration to the Quebec Skål World Congress in 2021.       


For the first time ever, we have not only considered the percentage increase to determine the winners but also a net increase in membership. Therefore, two awards were presented in each category, based on the membership figures recorded at the General Secretariat on 1 October 2019 and 30 September 2020.

The Clubs having won the Silver awards are entitled to a Euros 250 reduction for the Quebec 2021 Skål World Congress.

Percentage Increase awards:


Platinum Award | Skål International Lanzarote, Spain

Gold Award | Skål International Accra, Ghana

Silver Award | Skål International Guadalajara, Mexico

Net Increase awards:


Platinum Award | Skål International Côte d'Azur, France

Gold Award | Skål International Goa, India

Silver Award | Skål International Lanzarote, Spain



The winners of the 2020 Sustainable Tourism Awards were also announced at the AGA and full information can be found at https://conta.cc/3k9i60v 


Quebec, Canada was reconfirmed as the 2021 Congress site and Kvarner, Croatia, selected to host the 2022 World Congress.

Press Release Contact: Sandra Vera ? Skal International HQ sandra.vera@skal.org

SOURCE Skal International

These press releases may also interest you

at 17:10
Booking Holdings  announced today that Chief Financial Officer David Goulden will speak at Nasdaq's 43rd Investor Conference on Thursday, December 3, 2020 beginning at 11:30 a.m. ET. A live audio cast of the presentation will be available to the...

at 17:09
2020 has certainly challenged the continuity of celebrations and traditions, but the holidays can offer the chance to retain or regain a sense of magic, wonder and community. Keep to holiday traditions when it is safe and responsible, and create new...

at 16:15
Ashford Hospitality Trust, Inc. ("Ashford Trust" or the "Company") today announced the closing of its previously commenced offers to exchange (each an "Exchange Offer" and collectively the "Exchange Offers") any and all shares of the Company's 8.45%...

at 16:10
Further to the announcement on November 24, 2020 from the Nova Scotia provincial government that certain businesses in certain regions, such as casinos, will be required to close as part of the effort to prevent the spread of COVID-19, Great Canadian...

at 16:05
Landcadia Holdings II, Inc. ("Landcadia II") announced today that regulatory approval has been obtained from the New Jersey Casino Control Commission to acquire Golden Nugget Online Gaming, Inc. ("GNOG"). "We are appreciative of the efforts of both...

at 15:06
FlyersRights.org filed a Reply in its Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) case against the FAA. (Flyers Rights Education Fund v. FAA, (D.D.C. CV-19-3749 (CKK)). FlyersRights.org seeks the public disclosure of a limited set of documents related to the...

News published on 20 october 2020 at 15:53 and distributed by: