Le Lézard
Classified in: Health
Subject: AWD

Former ENA President Receives Emergency Nurses Association's Most Prestigious Award

SCHAUMBURG, Ill., June 13, 2019 /PRNewswire/ -- The Emergency Nurses Association on Thursday announced Matthew Powers, MS, BSN, RN, MICP, CEN, FAEN, as the recipient of the association's most prestigious honor ? the 2019 Judith C. Kelleher Award.

(PRNewsfoto/Emergency Nurses Association)

ENA recognized Powers ? the association's 2015 president and one-time interim executive director ? for his career-long contributions to emergency nursing, as well as his continued professional excellence. Powers, of Pleasant Hill, California, joined ENA in 2000, served on the board of directors between 2010 and 2015, and is currently chairperson of the Nominations and Elections Committee and the EMS Advisory Council.

"As someone fortunate enough to have known Judy for many years, I must say this is a true heartfelt honor that words cannot fully describe," said Powers, a battalion chief who oversees the North County Fire Authority's EMS division and is the assistant nurse manager in the Kaiser Permanente Walnut Creek emergency department.

In total, ENA announced recipients of 15 individual awards that highlight emergency nurses who exemplify exceptional performance in professional practice, innovation, leadership and advocacy. ENA President Patti Kunz Howard, PhD, RN, CEN, CPEN, TCRN, NE-BC, FAEN, FAAN, said the honorees embody the association's "Committed to Care" mantra.

"It is an honor for any member to be nominated for an ENA award by their colleagues. The exemplary care and accomplishments of these award recipients are a testament to their commitment to their patients and the profession of emergency nursing," Howard said. 

All 2019 ENA Annual Achievement Award recipients will be recognized at Emergency Nursing 2019 in Austin, Texas, Sept. 29-Oct. 2:

Barbara A. Foley Quality, Safety and Injury Prevention Award: Mary Pargin, MSN, RN, CEN, TCRN, of Indiana

Behind the Scenes Award: Jane Friona, MHSA, BS, of Indiana

Clinical Nurse Specialist Award: Jean Proehl, MN, RN, CEN, CPEN, TCRN, FAEN, FAAN, of New Hampshire

Frank L. Cole Nurse Practitioner Award: Nycole Oliver, DNP, RN, APRN, CEN, ACNPC-AG, FNP-C, of Arkansas

Gail Lenehan Advocacy Award: Penelope (Penny) Blake, RN, CEN, CCRN, of Florida

Lifetime Achievement Award: Kathy Robinson, RN, FAEN, of Pennsylvania

Media Award: Fast Facts for the Triage Nurse: An Orientation and Care Guide, 2nd Edition ? Lynn Sayre Visser, MSN, RN, PHN, CEN, CPEN and Anna Montejano, DNP, RN, PHN, CEN, of California

Nurse Manager Award: Joseph Kennon, RN, EMT-P, CEN, CPEN, of Arkansas

Nursing Competency in Aging Award: Vicki Patrick, MS, APRN, CEN, ACNP-BC, FAEN, of Texas

Nursing Education Award: Lisa Eckenrode, DNP, MSN, MBA, RN, NRP, TCRN, of Pennsylvania

Nursing Practice and Professionalism Award: Christine Gisness, MSN, RN, FNP, CEN, ATCN, ENP-C, FNP-C, TCRN, FAEN, of Georgia

Pediatric Readiness Improvement Award: Karen Kaskie, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, CFRN, of South Dakota

Rising Star Award: Kristine Klausing, BSN, RN, CEN, TCRN, of Ohio

Team Award: Stroke Team Project Committee ? Good Samaritan Hospital, Vincennes, Indiana

About the Emergency Nurses Association
The Emergency Nurses Association is the premier professional nursing association dedicated to defining the future of emergency nursing through advocacy, education, research, innovation, and leadership. Founded in 1970, ENA has proven to be an indispensable resource to the global emergency nursing community. With more than 44,000 members worldwide, ENA advocates for patient safety, develops industry-leading practice standards and guidelines, and guides emergency healthcare public policy. ENA members have expertise in triage, patient care, disaster preparedness, and all aspects of emergency care. Additional information is available at www.ena.org.

ENA Media Contact:
Dan Campana
Senior Manager, PR & Communications


SOURCE Emergency Nurses Association

These press releases may also interest you

at 15:00
Attorney Advertising -- Bronstein, Gewirtz & Grossman, LLC notifies investors that a class action lawsuit has been filed against Lipocine Inc. ("Lipocine" or the "Company") and certain of its officers, on behalf of shareholders who purchased...

at 15:00
Dr. Ajeet Kaushik is determined to make detecting and treating diseases easy, accessible, and precise through the use of nanomaterials for biosensing and medicine. His extensive work and resolute desire to improve the delivery of healthcare has...

at 15:00
Tonight, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA), in collaboration with the Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA) and the Lancet, will host an interactive panel discussion on the impact of climate change and health. The discussion follows the...

at 15:00
Shared memories between love birds are priceless; it continues to exist beyond space and time. However, medical conditions can have a terrible effect on a person's memory. Will love ever be forgotten? Love Me Hug Me is proud to announce a new pop up...

at 14:59
ConvenientMD?New England's leading provider of urgent care services?is proud to announce the opening of its newest location this December in Belmont, NH, located at 77 Daniel Webster Highway. ConvenientMD is an...

at 14:56
Andlauer Healthcare Group Inc. ("AHG" or the "Company") announced today that it has filed, and obtained a receipt for, a preliminary long-form prospectus for a proposed initial public offering of subordinate voting shares with the securities...

News published on 13 june 2019 at 12:18 and distributed by: