Le Lézard
Subjects: Conference, Trade Show, Award

Six Skilled Nursing Facilities Led by Black Hills Receiver Earn 2019 AHCA/NCAL Bronze National Quality Award

Six skilled nursing facilities currently led by Black Hills Receiver LLC have been recognized as a 2019 recipient of the Bronze ? Commitment to Quality Award by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) for their commitment to improving the lives of residents through quality care. The distinction is the first of three progressive award levels through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program. The program, presented by the leading association in long term and post-acute care, honors association members across the country that have demonstrated their dedication to improving quality of care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

The six skilled nursing facility recipients are:

Armour Care and Rehab, Armour
Bella Vista Care and Rehab, Rapid City
Milbank Care and Rehab, Milbank
Pierre Care and Rehab, Pierre
Redfield Care and Rehab, Redfield
Watertown Care and Rehab, Watertown

"I am pleased to congratulate all of the in-building leaders and employees for earning the prestigious AHCA/NCAL Bronze ? Commitment to Quality Awards," said Wanda Prince, President of Black Hills Receiver LLC. "The clinicians and caregivers at these six facilities demonstrate compassion and commitment every day, and that is reflected in the health and well-being of their residents. I am proud to see their dedication to quality care recognized."

The National Quality Award Program, established by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, is based on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which also serves as the foundation for the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The Baldrige framework helps organizations among different business sectors improve organizational effectiveness and achieve strategy-driven performance.

The Award Program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with essential performance elements such as vision, mission statement, and key strengths and challenges. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. As a recipient of the Bronze - Commitment to Quality Award, these six winners may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the Silver - Achievement in Quality Award criteria.

"I applaud all six facilities for taking this important step towards quality improvement," said the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers Chair Alana Wolfe. "I encourage each facility to continue on its path to achieving the highest of quality care."

The awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL's 70th Convention & Expo in Orlando, Florida, October 13-16, 2019.


Black Hills Receiver LLC is the Court appointed receiver for 17 skilled nursing facilities that were formerly operated by Skyline Healthcare and its affiliates in South Dakota.


The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) represent more than 13,700 non-profit and proprietary skilled nursing centers, assisted living communities, sub-acute centers and homes for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. By delivering solutions for quality care, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve the lives of the millions of frail, elderly and individuals with disabilities who receive long term or post-acute care in our member facilities each day. For more information, please visit www.ahca.org or www.ncal.org.

News published on 12 june 2019 at 09:35 and distributed by: