Le Lézard
Classified in: Business
Subjects: AWD, NPT, WOM, ASI, BLK

Abigail E. Disney, Dream Hampton, Cyndi Lauper, Rhonda Joy McLean, Sarinya Srisakul and Dr. Marta Moreno Vega Honored at The New York Women's Foundation's 2019 Celebrating Women® Breakfast

NEW YORK, May 14, 2019 /PRNewswire/ -- More than 2,200 supporters from community, philanthropy and business joined The New York Women's Foundation (The Foundation) on May 14 to honor six extraordinary leaders whose vision, energy and achievements have had a transformative effect on communities in New York City and beyond. The Breakfast also honored The Foundation's grantee partners?dynamic community organizations working to advance economic, gender and racial justice.

Celebrating Women Breakfast award recipients Dr. Marta Moreno Vega, dream hampton, Cyndi Lauper, Abigail E. Disney, Sarinya Srisakul, and Rhonda Joy McLean with The New York Women's Foundation President and CEO, Ana Oliveira.  Credit: Hannah Schillinger

The 2019 Celebrating Women® Breakfast recognized Abigail E. Disney, philanthropist, filmmaker, activist and Chair Emerita of The New York Women's Foundation Board, with the Century Award for her courageous efforts in fighting economic inequality and storytelling that fosters human understanding, peace and justice.

These barrier breakers were awarded with Celebrating Women Awards: dream hampton, filmmaker, writer, organizer and executive producer of "Surviving R. Kelly;" Dr. Marta Moreno Vega, President of the Creative Justice Initiative and Founder of the Caribbean Cultural Center African Diaspora Institute; and Sarinya Srisakul, the first Asian-American woman FDNY firefighter and former President of the United Women Firefighters Association of New York City.

Grammy, Emmy and Tony Award-winning artist Cyndi Lauper, Co-Founder of True Colors United, and Rhonda Joy McLean, attorney, author, philanthropist and former Board Co-Chair of The New York Women's Foundation, were recognized for their charitable endeavors and advocacy with Vision Awards for Philanthropy.

Ana Oliveira, President and CEO of The Foundation, said, "The Celebrating Women® Breakfast is a testament to the power of radical generosity. Our honorees, grantee partners and supporters understand how collective action is key to building the world we want to see right now. The Breakfast celebrates women's leadership as activists, movement-builders, problem solvers, advocates and philanthropists, and it builds energy to keep moving forward together to advance a more just future for women, girls and LGBTQI individuals."

The awards were presented by Tarana Burke, Founder and leader of the Me Too Movement; Ms. Disney; Catherine Gund, filmmaker and activist; Foundation Board Members Anne Delaney and Ayo Roach; and Marjorie Cadogan, former Board Member.

The annual event at the Marriott Marquis raises funds for The New York Women's Foundation.

SOURCE The New York Women's Foundation

These press releases may also interest you

at 17:30
VOXX International Corporation , a leading manufacturer and distributor of automotive and consumer technologies for the global markets, today announced financial results for its Fiscal 2021 first quarter ended May 31, 2020. Commenting on the...

at 17:28
The Federation of St Kitts and Nevis has diversified its economy through the Citizenship by Investment (CBI) Programme, established in 1984. The fund option that citizenship hopefuls contribute to provides the government with resources to implement...

at 17:27
Padlock Partners UK Fund I (the "Trust") announced today that it has filed with the securities commissions of all provinces and territories of Canada, and obtained a receipt for, a preliminary prospectus for an initial public offering of trust units...

at 17:20
Emergence from Chapter 11   At a hearing on June 30, 2020, the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York confirmed the joint Plan of Reorganization (the "Plan") of Seabras 1 USA, LLC and Seabras 1 Bermuda Ltd. (the...

at 17:15
G2 Goldfields Inc. ("G2" or the "Company") announces that Mr. Peter Mullens has resigned as a director of the Company, effective as of July 10, 2020. The Board of Directors would like to thank Mr. Mullens for his contribution to the Company and wish...

at 17:11
As an experienced plaintiff's attorney and the founder of The Ammons Law Firm LLP, a premier personal injury firm in Houston, Attorney Rob Ammons has often been recognized for his accomplishments, including listings in Super Lawyers®,...

News published on 14 may 2019 at 15:00 and distributed by: